Government of Liberia

President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is the 24th President of Liberia and the first elected female Head of State in Africa. She is serving her second term as President after winning the 2011 presidential election. One of the three Nobel Peace Prize Laureates of 2011, President Sirleaf throughout her career has demonstrated passionate commitment to hard work, integrity and good governance, advocating for the rights of women and the importance of education to provide a better future for her country and its people.

Born Ellen Eugenia Johnson in Monrovia on October 29, 1938, she is the granddaughter of a traditional chief of renown in western Liberia and a market woman from the southeast. She grew up in Liberia and attended high school at the College of West Africa in Monrovia, subsequently studying at Madison Business College, the University of Colorado and Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government where she obtained a Master’s Degree in Public Administration in 1971. 
Her entry into politics came in 1972 when she delivered her now famous commencement address to her high school alma mater in which she sharply criticized the government, showing her determination to speak truth unto power. This was the start of a distinguished professional and political career spanning nearly four more

Vice President Joseph N. Boakai

His Excellency Joseph Nyuma Boakai, Sr. is a public-spirited patriot and dedicated public servant who has served his

country and people diligently. His service to the nation, which spanned more than 35 years, included various positions in

government, private sector, agro-related, church and civil society. In all of those responsibilities, Vice President Boakai

exhibited exemplary qualities, which is reminiscent of his humble beginnings. Born in the remote village of Worsonga in Foya District, Lofa County, on November 30, 1944, Vice President Boakai has withstood the test of time and epitomized the Liberian adage which states: “It does not matter where you are coming from, but where you are headed.” He is a radiant of hope for his home town and a model more

Ministries of Liberia


Excutive Mansion Staff Directory


Edward B. McClain, Jr.
Minister of State & Chief of Staff

H. Boima Fahnbulleh, Jr.
National Security Advisor

Commeny Wesseh
Minister of State Without Portfolio

Elva Mitchell Richardson
Deputy Minister of State for Administration

Shirley N. Brownell
Communications Director & Head of Public Affairs

Emmett Kennedy
Chief of Protocol, Executive Mansion

H. Eleanor Cooper
Deputy Chief of Staff for Protocol Affairs

Richard B. Fallah
Deputy Chief of Staff for Special Projects

Loris Shannon
Assistant Chief of Staff/Human Resources & Employee Relations

Jerolinmek Matthew Piah
Press Secretary to the President

Harry B. Sando, Sr.
Financial Comptroller

Hannah Okoro
Director, Domestic & Special Services


Ministry of State for Presidential Affairs
Executive Mansion
P.O. Box 9001
Capitol Hill, Monrovia
Republic of Liberia